Lucie Horsch and the Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century

Bach, Vivaldi, and Namavar: new and old come together
  • Sat 25 May ’24
    doors open
    Grote Zaal
  • €3,75 service costs excluded per order. Read about the exchange policy here.

Een bijzonder programma over blokfluit en stem met werken van J.S. Bach, Antonio Vivaldi en een gloednieuw werk van Reza Namavar.  

The Orchestra of the eighteenth century once again joins forces with recorder player and singer Lucie Horsch. A unique program centred on recorder and voice, featuring works by J.S. Bach, Antonio Vivaldi, as well as a brand-new piece by Reza Namavar. 

Bach hasn’t written any solo pieces for recorder, and yet the evening opens and closes with a concerto by the German grandmaster. The opening was arranged by the founder of the Orchestra of the eighteenth century Frans Brüggen. The closing piece was arranged for recorder by Lucie Horsch herself. This is what Bach’s compositions for recorder would have sounded like! 
The Italian name for recorder, ‘ricordare la voce’, literally means ‘recalling the voice’, and Lucy puts this name to the test. She has arranged Bach’s concerto in A minor for recorder, and takes the aria ‘Stirb in mir, Welt’ back to its vocal roots.  
Reza Namavar wrote a new piece inspired by Vivaldi’s concerto in A minor specifically for this program, turning the concerto for two violins into a concerto for violin and recorder.  


Bach Concerto no. 2 in E major, BWV 1053 (arr. Frans Brüggen)  | Vivaldi Recorder concerto in C major  | Vivaldi ‘Vedrò con mio diletto’, from: Il Giustino  | Vivaldi Concerto in A minor, from: L’Estro Armonico  | Namavar New work, inspired by Vivaldi  | Bach Concerto in A minor, BWV 1041 (arr. Lucie Horsch)  


Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century  | Lucie Horsch recorder