Fazıl Say and Amsterdam Sinfonietta 

Fantasia suite by Mozart, Say, and Silvestrov 
  • Thu 14 Mar ’24
    doors open
    Grote Zaal

Pianist composer Fazıl Say is a great fan of Mozart, but brings a completely own interpretation to his work. In this performance, the three movements from Mozart’s Serenata Notturna, his Fantasia, and piano works by Say will be joined together to create a "Mozart-Say Suite". 

The wistful and simultaneously hopeful The Messenger by the Ukrainian composer Valentin Sylvestrov is an incredible homage to the classical master. The score expresses its message in fluid, remote-sounding, Mozartesque phrases. We will end the evening with Yürüyen Köşk (The Moving Mansion) by Fazıl Say, an ode to Turkish national hero Atatürk. The original piano quintet will be performed in full force.  
➜ Fazıl Say is a true master pianist. With the greatest ease, he blends composing, playing, and improvising, using both Turkish and Western traditional elements.  


Say New Life Sonata for piano solo | Mozart Marcia from Serenata notturna | Mozart Fantasia KV 397 for piano solo | Mozart Menuet from Serenata notturna | Mozart/Say Rondo alla Turca for piano solo | Mozart Rondo from Serenata notturna | Sylvestrov The Messenger | Schnittke Moz-Art à la Haydn | Mozart Andante from Dissonance quartet | Say Yürüyen Köşk for piano and strings 


Fazıl Say piano  | Amsterdam Sinfonietta  | Candida Thompson musical direction